Mouthwatering Masala Bay

11Mar09

Masala BayMasala Bay
3B Regina Street North, Waterloo

Monday-Thursday, 11am-2pm and 5pm-10pm
Friday, 11am-2pm and 5pm-10:30pm
Saturday, 11:30am-2pm and 5pm-10:30pm
Sunday, 6pm-9pm

My last attempt at finding tasty Indian food in Kitchener-Waterloo was not very successful. I had heard some very good things about Masala Bay in Uptown Waterloo, so I decided to give it a try.

Papadums and chutneyThe restaurant has a colourful interior, with a sprinkling of Indian art decorating the walls. We were seated and our water glasses were filled by a friendly server. A complementary basket of crisp papadums with three chutneys were soon brought to our table. Although, in my near famished state, I eagerly dug in, I personally found the chutneys far to spicy.  I think having milder chutneys, such as mango or peanut chutney would be a great substitute, especially for those of us who want our tounges in tact for the main courses.

We ordered masala chai ($2.25) partially because we wanted to try it but also beucase our toungues were slightly on fire. The chai was rich and dark, in a good way, but the tiny portion left us a bit unsatisfied. I am used to masala chai coming in smaller portions, but this was smaller than most.

Our server told us that it was her first day when it became obvious she was not very familiar with the menu. Luckily the veteran server helping her out was extrememly knowledgable, even giving reheating tips to the table next to ours who had gotten a doggy bag. I think this is a great sign of the staff being knowledgable and great customer service.

NaanThe naan ($1.99) came fresh and covered in ghee. It was fairly tasty, and had a good texture. I ordered the matar paneer ($11.99),  one of my favourite dishes, but one that is mediocre or worse at many restaurants. It consists of mostly paneer (a South-Asian cheese) and matar (peas). This time, it was made wonderfully. The panner was firm and the sauce was rich and flavourful.

Murg Shahi Korma is a chicken curry with a creamy base. My first taste was a surprising and slightly confusing one, as the dish is quite creamy but a bit sour. Once I got over my initial surprise, I started to really enjoy the flavour. The sour flavour likely comes from the yogurt or lemon juice, but it really adds a nice kick to the dish, and makes it spectacular, instead of just tasty.The chicken was very moist and flavourful.

Murg Shahi KormaMatar Paneer

Masala Bay does not disappoint, and brings some serious Indian cuisine to Uptown Waterloo.  They serve a lunch buffet Monday to Friday ($11.50/person) which I am definately going to check out next time I’m in Uptown on a weekday.

KW-Insider Points: 4.5/5

Masala Bay on Urbanspoon

No Responses Yet to “Mouthwatering Masala Bay”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

